Urban News

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Towns and Cities

Corporation retrieves reserved sites

Print PDF

The Hindu       21.11.2016  

 Corporation retrieves reserved sites

The civic body officials on Saturday retrieved reserved sites measuring 2.70 acre worth Rs. 40.3 crore in eviction drives conducted across the city.

A release from the civic body said that the Town Planning wing officials, following instructions from Special Officer and Commissioner K. Vijayakarthikeyan removed encroachments in reserved sites in B.R. Nagar, Ramanathapuram (Ward 66), Poompuhar Nagar and Sri Poompuhar Nagar, Kavundampalayam (Ward 6), Auto Nagar, Kavundampalayam and Sri Devanga Nagar, Edayarpalayam(Ward 7), Bharathi Colony, Peelamedu (Ward 39), Gandhi Managar, Ganapathy (Ward 41), P&T Colony, Kurichi (Ward 99), and Addis Street, Nehru Stadium (Ward 72).

After removing the encroachments, the officials erected boards informing the public that the Corporation owned the land and that it should not be misused. In a few places, the residents came forward to fence the land and requested the civic body to develop parks, the officials involved in the operations added.


Electoral roll for local body polls released

Print PDF

The Hindu        21.09.2016  

Electoral roll for local body polls released

The State Election Office has released the electoral roll for the forthcoming local body polls for Theni district here on Monday.

Total voters in the local bodies in the district are 10,31,285 including 5,10,163 men, 5,20,987 women and 135 others.

Total voters in the six municipalities are 3,02,994 including 1,48,632 men, 1,54,291 women and 71 others. Theni Allingaram municipality has 75,120 voters, highest among all municipalities followed by Bodinayakkanur with 64187 voters. Periyakulam has 36,999 voters, Chinnamanur 34,901 voters, Cumbum 57,666 voters and Goodalur 34121 voters.

Total voters in eight panchayat unions are 4,72,008 including 2,35,115 men and 2,36,854 women and 39 others.

Andipatti union has 92,668 voters, highest among all unions following by Periyakulam with 81,103 voters. Total voters in 22 town panchayats are 2,56,283 including 1,26,416 men, 1,29,842 women and 25 others.

Uthamapalayam has 24,918 voters, highest among all town panchayats followed by Andipatti with 24,333 voters.

Polling stations

The district has 1,562 polling stations including 1,308 general polling stations and 127 exclusive polling stations each for men and women.

Total polling stations for six municipalities are 325 including 137 general and 94 each for men and women.


Salem Corpn. has 6,96,170 voters

Print PDF

The Hindu       21.09.2016  

Salem Corpn. has 6,96,170 voters  

The final draft electoral rolls of Salem district for the forthcoming local body elections were released.

Final rolls

As per the final rolls, the Salem Corporation has a voters strength of 6,96,170 who will exercise their franchise in as many as 662 polling booths.


The four municipalities of Attur, Narasingapuram, Mettur and Edappadi accounted for 1,59,065 voters, with 186 polling booths.

The 33 town panchayats in the district have a voters strength of 4,10,578 with 576 polling booths.

The District Panchayat Council and 20 panchayat unions spread over in 385 village panchayats have a voters strength of 15,31,302 with 2,694 polling booths, an official press release issued here on Tuesday said.


Page 6 of 272