15 Padra municipality members removed | ...

Written by Administrator Thursday, 23 July 2009 06:05 -

Times of India director of

23.07.2009**15 Padra municipality members removed** VADODARA: The municipa

lities has

ordered the removal of 15 members of Padra municipality in connection with irregularities in the process of tender for a drainage work in the town. All the 15 members, who have been sacked, are from the BJP that was ruling the municipality.

The director passed the order on Tuesday and the same was relayed to the civic body on Wednesday. The order has been passed regarding the work that has been dogged by controversies since 2006. Congress councillor Bipin Patel had alleged irregularities amounting to Rs 30 lakh in the drainage line work in the town near here.

Patel had alleged that the tender conditions were violated. The earnest money was to be paid through a demand draft, but the contractor who paid it in cash was given the contract. Another firm's tender was considered even when it had not paid the earnest money, he had alleged.

Patel had pointed out that while the tenders were to be opened on March 23, they were eventually opened on April 3. Later, a circular resolution was passed to give the work order for the drainage. He had contended that the Gujarat Municipality Act prohibits issuing such a resolution for giving work orders. The resolution has to be passed either by the executive committee of the municipality or the general board. He had also alleged that the tenders were passed for rates much above the estimate for the work and no negotiation was done.

The director after hearing the counsels of both the sides ordered that passing a circular resolution was illegal. The order also states that Rs 2,76,737 was paid to the contractor despite the irregularities, thus making a loss to the municipality. It also states that a tender of higher value was passed without giving any justification for the same.

Those who have been removed for making the illegal circular resolution are president of the municipality Mahesh <u>Gandhi</u>, vice president Virbala Trivedi, Lalji Rabari, Chaitanyasinh Jhala, Anita Adhyaru, Raju Rana, Manisha Bhavsar, Hemand Parmar, Chetankumar Patel, Neela Gandhi, Girish Mali, Ramesh Parmar, Sarasvati Mali, Sunil Gandhi and Purnima Bhavsar.