Written by Administrator Tuesday, 27 July 2010 04:58 - Last Updated Tuesday, 27 July 2010 05:00

The Hindu | | | | | 27.07.2010

List of divisions reserved for women in Corporation council

Staff Reporter

KOCHI: The divisions represented by all the Standing Committee chairmen, except that of K.J. Sohan, the development committee chairman, became women reservation divisions. The division represented by A.B. Sabu, the UDF leader in the corporation council was also reserved for women. The number of divisions of the council has been increased to 74 from the existing 71.

The divisions reserved for women were selected through lucky draws held on Monday.

The new corporation divisions reserved for women and the councillors presently representing the division are the following: Division 18-Konam (K.R. Premakumar), 5 Mattanchery (TK. Ashraf), 49 Vyttila (K.K. Sivan), 38 Devankulangara (N. Sasi), 25 Chullikkal (T. K. Babu), 15 Eda Kochi North (K.J Basil), 19 Palluruthy Kacheripady (P.S. Viju), 61 Ravipuram (David Parambithara), 65 Kaloor South (K.V. Manoj), 11 Thoppumpady (K.J. Maxy), 57 Kadavanthra (C.K. Gopalan), 34 Puthukalavattom (M. Anilkumar), 42 Vennala (M.B. Muralidharan), 22 Mundamveli (K.J. Prakasan), 40 Mamangalam (K.G. Gopi), 28 Amaravathy (K.K. Asokan), 71 Elamakara South (V.R. Sudheer), 51 Poonithura (A.B. Sabu), 73 Pachalam (E.M. Sunilkumar) 56 Panampilly Nagar (V.K. Thankaraj), 70 Kaloor North (C.M. Azeez), 14 Tazhappu (T.K. Shamsudheen), Ernakulam South, 55 Giri Nagar (T.K. Padmanabhan Master), 66 Ernakulam Central (Leno Jacob), 58 Konthuruthy (C.K. Peter), 68 Ayyappankavu (Sabu George), 68 Thrikkanarvattam (K.M. Hamsakunju), 50 Chambakara, 37 Edapally (N.A. Mani), 26 Nazareth (K.J. Antony), 39 Karukapally (O.K. Viswambaharan), 60 Perumanoor (K.X. Francis), 24 Mulamkuzhy (Uma Antony), 32 Vaduthala East (Asha Pious), 52 and 53 Scheduled Caste (women). The division 59 has been reserved as Scheduled Caste general seat.

Seats in panchayats

List of divisions reserved for women in Corporation council | ...

Written by Administrator Tuesday, 27 July 2010 04:58 - Last Updated Tuesday, 27 July 2010 05:00

The wards reserved for Scheduled Castes and women in 46 grama panchayats in the district were decided through a draw of lot held on Monday.

District Collector in-charge K.N. Raji chaired the draw of lot held at the conference hall of the district collectorate. The lot for deciding the wards to be reserved for Scheduled Caste community and women in the remaining panchayats will be held on Tuesday.

Out of the 719 wards in the 46 grama panchayats, 445 wards were reserved. While 364 wards were reserved for women, 46 were allocated to Scheduled Caste community members. Another 35 seats were reserved for women belonging to the Scheduled Caste community.

Eleven wards each were reserved for women in Elamkunnapuzha, Pallipuram, and Chellanam grama panchayats while ten wards each were set apart for women in Edathala, Kadungalloor, and Vadakekkara panchayats.

Panchayat Deputy Director A.P. Ajit Kumar, and Deputy Collector (Elections) C.K. Eliamma, were also present.