Written by Administrator Wednesday, 28 July 2010 08:55 - Last Updated Wednesday, 28 July 2010 08:56

The Hindu | | | | | 28.07.2010

Women to head Corporations

Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The State Election Commission has issued a notification reserving the top slots of three city Corporations and 30 municipalities for women.

Women will become Mayors of the Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam and Kozhikode city Corporations after the coming elections to the local bodies. In Kochi and Thrissur, the Deputy Mayor post has been reserved for women.

The municipalities in which the chairperson post has been reserved for women are Attingal and Nedumangad in Thiruvananthapuram district; Punalur in Kollam district; Thiruvalla in Pathanamthitta district; Alappuzha, Chengannur, Cherthala and Kayamkulam in Alappuzha district; Changanassery and Vaikkom in Kottayam district; North Paravur in Ernakulam district; Iringalakuda, Kodungallur and Chavvakad in Thrissur district; Ottapalam in Palakkad district; Perintalmanna, Ponnani, Tirur and Kottakkal in Malappuram district; Koyilandi and Vatakara in Kozhikode district; Kannur, Koothuparamba, Payyannur, Taliparamba and Thalassery in Kannur district; and Kanhangad and Neeleswaram in Kasaragod district.

The chairperson post has been reserved for women belonging to the Scheduled Castes in Paravur in Kollam district, Chittur-Thathamangalam in Palakkad district.

In the remaining 29 municipalities, the Deputy Chairperson post has been reserved for women.

The chairman post of Guruvayur and Kunnamkulam municipalities of Thrissur district has been

Women to head Corporations | ...

Written by Administrator Wednesday, 28 July 2010 08:55 - Last Updated Wednesday, 28 July 2010 08:56

reserved for persons belonging to the Scheduled Castes.