The New Indian Express | | | | | 28.07.2010

Women to head 3 corporations, 30 municipalities Express News Service

Three Corporations and thirty Municipalities in the state would be governed by women chairpersons after the new dispensation assumes office in these civic bodies after the local body elections in September. The State Election Commission issued notification in this regard on Tuesday.

Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam and Kozhikode Corporations will have woman Mayors while in Kochi and Thrissur women hold the post of deputy mayor.

The municipalities which will have women chairpersons are Attingal, Nedumangad (Thiruvananthapuram), Punalur (Kollam) Thiruvalla (Pathanamthitta), Alappuzha, Chenganoor, Cherthala, Kayamkulam (Alappuzha), Changanaserry, Vaikom (Kottayam), North Paravur, Irinjalakuda, Kodungaloor and Chavakkad (Thrissur), Ottapalam (Palakkad), Perinthalmanna, Ponnani, Tirur and Kottakkal (Malappuram), Koyilandi, Vadakara (Kozhikode), Kannur, Koothuparambu,

Written by Administrator Wednesday, 28 July 2010 00:00 - Last Updated Thursday, 29 July 2010 05:40

Payyanur, Thaliparambu, Thalassery (Kannur), Kanhangad and Nileswaram (Kasargod).

The chairperson posts of Paravur in Kollam and Chittoor -Thathamangalam in Palakkad district have been reserved for women from Scheduled Caste.

The chairperson posts of Guruvayur and Kunnamkulam municipalities have been reserved for Scheduled Tribes. In the rest of 29 municipalities, deputy chairperson post would be held by women.

The draft electoral rolls of seven municipalities including Thiruvananthapuram and Kozhikode Corporations and the newly-formed municipalities have been published.

Complaints regarding the electoral roll would be collected at the respective local bodies till August 10 for which they will be open on public holidays on August 1, 8 and 9.