No change in property tax for five new wards

Special Correspondent

Residents in the five newly added wards, from ward 61 to 65 in the city, could heave a sigh of relief as there will be no change in the property tax for them immediately.

The five new wards were added to the city following the merger of the erstwhile Tiruverumbur Town Panchayat and the Pappakurichi, Ellakudi, Alathur and Keezha Kalkandarkottai panchayats following delimitation last year.

There has been apprehension among residents in these wards that they would have to shell out higher sums as property tax on a par with residents in the other 60 wards of the city. However, an official resolution tabled at an ordinary meeting of the Corporation Council on Wednesday said that the government has issued orders stating that the tax for residents in the newly added areas could be levied based on the existing rates approved by the erstwhile local bodies. There will be no change in the property tax for these residents until further orders from the government.

Accordingly, residents under the erstwhile Tiruverumbur town panchayat and Pappakurichi and Ellakudi panchayats will pay the tax at the rates fixed by the respective local bodies in 2008 and those in Alathur and Keezha Kalkandarkottai at the rates fixed in 2007.